General Information

Instruction, Research, Extension, and Production are elemental functions of the Sulu State College, its raison d’etre.  The College strives for excellence in these areas and through its seven Schools, aims for programs and projects for human advancement. By its progressive expansion of knowledge in the fields of science, technology, agriculture and business entrepreneurship, the College is, to all intents and purposes, an instrument of the government for national development and improvement of the quality of life.

1.1.      History of Sulu State College

Sulu State College traces its beginnings to the year 1924 when the Americans established the Sulu High School. It was the highest institution of learning then in the whole Province of Sulu. It has since gone through several organizational transformations; primarily in response to the growing educational needs of a developing region.

In 1970, the provincial government opened the Jolo Community College, which quickly grew into a big community college of 1,200 enrollees on average. The  year  1974  saw  the  conversion of Sulu  High  School  into  the  eponymous Dayang-Dayang Hadji Piandao  Memorial High School,  so named in honor of the late Pangian  (Queen)  of Sulu.

While  the  Dayang-Dayang  Hadji  Piandao   Memorial  High  School   had national  government support,  the Jolo Community College  drew its maintenance from the tuition  and other school  fees of its students.  In 1982, the two schools, which were then administered by the high school  principal Mr. Mukatil  U. Salih, were  merged  and  took  its present  legal  status  as a state  college  by virtue  of Philippine Batas  Pambansa Bilang  208.  By operation of said law, Mr.  Salih became acting president until his retirement in 1989. Since then and until 2018, three  other  educators had  taken  turns  serving  as President of the Sulu  State College:  Dr. Norma  A. Abdulla  from  1989  – 1995,  Dr. Hamsali  S. Jawali  from 1995 – 2010 and Dr. Abdurasa S. Arasid from 2010 – 2018.

Dr. Abdulla’s watch was marked by the coming of age of computerization, which as a matter of course introduced the College to office automation. She started   the Graduate School   program.  She also established the College’s Computer Center, which foreran the School of Computer Science. It was here that the students took their computer literacy   classes.   At the start of her presidency, only four schools composed the Sulu State College:  Education, Arts and Sciences, Business Administration, and Agriculture.

Dr. Hamsali, during  his presidency, added  more academic programs and two new schools  to the College  – the School  of Computer Science, Information Technology  and  Engineering,  and  the  School   of  Nursing.  Also, the Islamic Institute was established.

By the time Dr. Arasid assumed office, the College already had seven established schools – Education, Arts and Sciences, Business Administration, Nursing, Agriculture, Graduate Studies, and the School of Computer Science, Information Technology and Engineering. Dr.  Arasid continued the thrust for quality education of his predecessors. Towards this end, he submitted the education program for accreditation, a first for Sulu State College.

Presently, the College is led by Dr. Charisma S. Ututalum, CESE.  The Board of Trustees elected and appointed her in June 21, 2018. Her accomplishments, in the areas of both academic and physical development, are promising and augurs well for the future of the College.  She has promised her commitment to the development of academic stalwarts – globally competent professionals academically enabled  to  produce  cutting  edge  research, knowledge and technologies for sustainable development; a commitment premised on governance that is grounded on values  shared  by the Sulu State College community – Solidarity, Professionalism, Integrity, Competence, and Excellence.


MARCH 23, 1984-MAY 24, 1989

MAY 25, 1989-JUNE 09, 1995

APRIL 17, 1996-MAY 13, 2010

MAY 14, 2010-MAY 13, 2018